Leave a comment

My First Blog Post!

This is very important. The very first one should be something significant. Something personal yet broad enough to enlighten even the least likely person to read a Feng Shui blog. What to say…. I’ll just go with a general introduction:

I’m Cyndi. My website is www.fselements.com. That’s Feng Shui Elements. You can read all about me there, and my services as a Certified Feng Shui Consultant in Upstate New York. Also check out (and like/follow!) www.facebook.com/FengShuiElements.com and www.twitter.com/FengShuiElements. I’m on Pinterest too, but I’m still trying to figure out why.

I’m a writer. Always have been, and always will be. When I was real little – single digits – I was (and still am) an early riser. On Christmas morning, or Easter morning when I was supposed to wait in my room until my dad was awake to pretend I hadn’t already seen all the cool stuff he’d laid out in the living room for my sister and I the night before, I’d write letters from Santa and/or the Easter bunny. “A carrot? Really? I’ve got over a million kids to drag stuff to and a small amount of time to do it in, and you leave me this measly carrot? After all I’ve done for you…”. I thought I was hysterical, and when dad saw what I wrote he laughed too. It inspired me to keep doing it. I love to write. Thanks, Dad.

From there it progressed through high school where I was sometimes paid to proof-read my friends’ papers (I’d often re-write them, I’m kind of a perfectionist); through college where I took as many writing classes as I could; my work over the years where I’d incorporate writing somehow, even if writing had no part in that particular job; and well… now: blogging! Look at me with a blog!

Feng Shui happened about 10 years ago for me. Weird, I was already kind of doing it all along. I didn’t like protruding corners in a room or from outside structures pointing at me. I somehow intuitively knew that certain objects should be placed in certain areas, and things had very different meanings to me than to anyone else. I knew that colors and shapes were very important. I always really “felt” how things should be rather than “saw” with my eyes. Hard to explain. I have a knack for this though, trust me. If I had a past life, I was undoubtedly practicing Feng Shui in it. I think it was 2002 when I was wandering around in Borders and found my first book on the subject. It was called Feng Shui for Beginners by Richard Weber. I marked it all up inside with pencil and highlighters. This was it! Hooked! Obsessed! It just got worse and worse. Or better and better, depending if you are me or my husband who has had to deal with all of the trial and error over the past 10 years.

I always wanted to help others but didn’t really think I had anything that was helpful to offer until I knew Feng Shui. So now that’s what I do: I fix people’s spaces for them so that it embraces and benefits them. I can’t think of anything better, and I cannot imagine doing anything else.

Wow, this is fun! Writing and Feng Shui all in one place – I have a feeling I’m going to be blogging a lot.

Until next time, (which might be in a few minutes – I love this!)

Cyndi

PS – (Not sure if there is “PS” in blogging, but anyway…) I promise my future posts will be filled with wonderful tips and tricks that I’ve learned along the way through my journey, case studies using what my clients have discovered about their own spaces, and all in my style of real-life, no-hocus-pocus examples of what works and what doesn’t. Stay tuned, folks!

Leave a Reply

